Category: Differentiating Services between Members and Non-Members

Alito Joint Christian Farmers’ Group (AJOCFG): la commercialisation de graines oléagineuses

commentaires Commentaires fermés sur Alito Joint Christian Farmers’ Group (AJOCFG): la commercialisation de graines oléagineuses
Par , octobre 24, 2012 9:20

Contexte
Le Groupe Alito Joint Christian Farmers ‘(AJOCFG) en Ouganda, a été fondée en 1998, composé de 5 membres. Leur intérêt commun était de qualité sur le marché de production de semences de haute huile (graines de tournesol principalement). En 2004, l’organisation enregistrée comme organisation communautaire pour développer sa fonction d’approvisionnement en intrants pour la production et la vulgarisation. D’ici là, le groupe de base avait augmenté à 58 membres. En 2005, le groupe a commencé à grandir, parce qu’il y avait une demande provenant d’autres régions de bénéficier des services. Dans tous les AJOCFG grandi à une circonscription de 62 groupes de cluster sous, totalisant un nombre de 1860 membres d’ici 2010. Ces sous-groupes sont organisés en seconde position des producteurs. Collection de graines a lieu au niveau des sous-groupes. La commercialisation se fait au niveau de AJOCFG. Afin de gérer la croissance du groupement de producteurs, le AJOCFG installé un système de gouvernance pour le traitement équitable et transparent des deux titulaires, ainsi que les nouveaux-membres à venir en termes de contribution, l’accès aux services et la tarification de leurs produits ..

Mécanismes
Le système de gouvernance pour gérer la croissance se compose d’un ensemble de mécanismes complémentaires:

Différencier les services entre les membres et non-membres.
Pour les groupes de nouveaux membres AJOFCG s’applique un prix d’entrée de sélectionner pour les plus motivés d’agriculteurs. En plus de cela une cotisation annuelle est mis en place pour tous les membres des services de commercialisation fournis. Chaque membre du groupe sous contribue donc plus ou moins la même chose en proportion de services utilisés. Les non-membres peuvent vendre leurs semences de AJOFCG, mais ne profitera pas former la valeur ajoutée qui est créé dans les ventes après gonflement.

Anticiper les ventes parallèles
AJOFCG applique deux mécanismes pour aider à anticiper les ventes parallèles. Tout d’abord, ils encouragent l’engagement de livraison par les agriculteurs à travers l’octroi de crédits aux sous-groupes d’agriculteurs ou groupes d’agriculteurs de soutien aux établissements bancaires de crédit indirectement. Ce crédit peut être utilisé pour financer des activités agricoles au cours de la plantation, et la saison de croissance. Les agriculteurs peuvent rembourser leur prêt au moment de la récolte, quand ils viennent pour vendre leurs produits. Le remboursement est strictement appliquée. En cas de ventes parallèles, des groupements de producteurs dans leur ensemble sont réprimandés, avec la sanction ultime de leur interdisant d’adhésion à AJOCFG.

Deuxièmement, AJOFCG s’assure toujours que le prix des semences offertes aux producteurs membres est toujours réglé plus haut que le prix du marché. Cela permet et favorise la loyauté à l’égard de vendre des produits à travers le canal AJOCFG.

Assurance de la qualité
Afin de garantir la qualité de l’approvisionnement en chaque agriculteur a rendu de son alimentation fourni au niveau du sous-groupe (deuxième volet). Lorsque le produit en vrac est recueillie par AJOCG la qualité moyenne de la majeure partie est utilisée pour déterminer les niveaux de prix. Les groupes d’agriculteurs sont ainsi rémunérés pour leur qualité moyenne, offrant un incitatif pour le groupe à maintenir et à contrôler les niveaux de qualité du produit qu’ils fournissent.

Résultat
Des conditions équitables, des règles claires et s’assurer que l’offre est bien organisé et parasitisme est empêchée. Il en résulte une qualité stable et prévisible et des volumes de graines oléagineuses, qui fournit AJOCFG avec une proposition crédible sur le marché de leurs acheteurs.

Référence (en Anglais)

(Español) Cómo vamos a pagar mejor al socio cuando necesitamos a la producción de los no-socios?

commentaires Commentaires fermés sur (Español) Cómo vamos a pagar mejor al socio cuando necesitamos a la producción de los no-socios?
Par , octobre 11, 2012 12:41

(English) Aspirasi Bina Usaha mango cooperative

commentaires Commentaires fermés sur (English) Aspirasi Bina Usaha mango cooperative
Par , juillet 8, 2012 9:58

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Américain.

Category: Differentiating Services between Members and Non-Members

Alito Joint Christian Farmers’ Group (AJOCFG): oil seed marketing

comments Comments Off on Alito Joint Christian Farmers’ Group (AJOCFG): oil seed marketing
By , October 24, 2012 9:20 am

Context
The Alito Joint Christian Farmers’ Group (AJOCFG) in Uganda, was founded in 1998, consisting of 5 members. Their joint interest was to market high quality oil seed production (predominantly sunflower seeds). In 2004 the organization registered as Community Based Organization to expand its function to input provision for production, and extension. By then the core group had expanded to 58 members. In 2005 the group started growing, because there was demand from other regions to benefit from the services. In all the AJOCFG grew to a constituency of 62 cluster sub groups, totaling a number of 1860 members by 2010. These sub-groups are organized as a second tier of producers. Collection of seeds takes place at the sub-groups level. Marketing is done at the level of AJOCFG. In order to manage the growth of the producer group, the AJOCFG installed a governance system for fair and transparent treatment of both incumbent, as well as new-coming members in terms of contribution, access to services, and pricing of their produce..

Mechanisms
The governance system to manage growth comprises of a set of complementary mechanisms:

Differentiating services between members and non-members.
For new member groups AJOFCG applies an admission fees to select for the most motivated of farmers. On top of that an annual membership fee is put in place for all members for rendered marketing services. Every member sub group thus contributes more or less the same in proportion to used services . Non-members may sell their seed to AJOFCG, but will not profit form the added value which is created in sales after bulking.

Anticipating side selling
AJOFCG applies two mechanisms to aid in anticipating side selling. First and foremost they encourage delivery commitment by farmers through providing credit to the farmer subgroups, or support farmer groups to banking institutions for credit indirectly. This credit can be used to finance farming activities during the planting, and growing season. The farmers can repay their loan at harvest time, when they come to sell their produce. Repayment is strictly enforced. In case of side-selling, producer groups as a whole are reprimanded, with the ultimate sanction of barring them from membership at AJOCFG.

Secondly, AJOFCG always makes sure that the price for seeds offered to member-farmers is always set higher than the market price. This provides and fosters loyalty towards selling produce through the AJOCFG channel.

Quality assurance
To guarantee quality of supply each individual farmer has record of his or her supply provided at the subgroup (second tier) level. When the bulked produce is collected by AJOCG the average quality of the bulk is used to determine price levels. The farmer groups are thus remunerated for their average quality, providing an incentive to the group to maintain and control the quality levels of the produce they supply.

Outcome
Fair terms, and clear rules ensure that supply is tightly arranged and free riding is prevented. This results in stable and predictable quality and volumes of oil seed, which provides AJOCFG with a credible proposition to their buyers’ market.

Reference

(Español) Cómo vamos a pagar mejor al socio cuando necesitamos a la producción de los no-socios?

comments Comments Off on (Español) Cómo vamos a pagar mejor al socio cuando necesitamos a la producción de los no-socios?
By , October 11, 2012 12:41 pm

Sorry, this entry is only available in French and European Spanish.

Aspirasi Bina Usaha mango cooperative

comments Comments Off on Aspirasi Bina Usaha mango cooperative
By , July 8, 2012 9:58 am

The Context
Aspirasi Bina Usaha is a large farmer grouping with 46 members and diverse interests. Aspirasi received mangos not only from members (60 per cent) but also from outside farmers via collectors (40 per cent) and sold to both supermarkets (30 per cent) and traditional markets (70 per cent). To supply the supermarkets the organization works together with Bimandiri, a specialized supermarket supplier. Not all members have the same vision about the partnership and some only partially or opportunistically commit their deliveries resulting in breach of contract.

The Mechanism
Farmers or members of cooperatives who find that other members are free riding on their investments in supplying the higher-end supermarket retail channel, can separate themselves from the members and form a new group.

The Outcome
The institutional innovations undertaken were dynamic and entailed self-correction as well as resulting in improvements.

Evaluation
Some difficulties did occur in the group dynamic, such as mixed incentives and conflicts of interest. Farmer group members who were genuinely interested in the market channel innovation overcame the free‐ ride problem by separating themselves and creating a new farmer group named KUBM, to exclusively supply Bimandiri. KUBM and Aspirasi remained connected because of the benefit of that they could only jointly capture of government subsidies, and extension.

Reference